Brandt Kettwick Defense has over 30 years of experience handling robbery cases throughout the Twin Cities area. Our team of professionals is here to help you. This help starts with a free consultation where we can sit down with you to explain what you are facing and make a plan to help you move forward.
Our Minnesota criminal lawyers will conduct a thorough investigation of your case and we will aggressively argue on your behalf.
Our robbery lawyers handle both simple and aggravated robbery charges. Both crimes are serious and come with many consequences.
Our criminal attorneys will ensure you fully understand the charges against you and potential consequences you face. We provide all our clients with the personal attention they deserve. We ensure you are always informed throughout the length of your case. We know when to negotiate and when to litigate.
Contact us today to schedule your free consultation at 763-421-6366.
Robbery Information & Guides
All penalties listed below are the maximum penalty that can be imposed under Minnesota Law unless otherwise specified.
- Simple Robbery: Felony
20 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine.
- 1st Degree Aggravated Robbery: Felony:
20 years in prison and/or a $35,000 fine.
- 2nd Degree Aggravated Robbery: Felony:
15 years in prison and/or a $30,000 fine.
Simple Robbery (Minn. Stat. § 609.24)
Whoever, having knowledge of not being entitled thereto, takes personal property from the person or in the presence of another and uses or threatens the imminent use of force against any person to overcome the person’s resistance or powers of resistance to, or to compel acquiescence in, the taking or carrying away of the property commits robbery.
1st Degree Aggravated Robbery (Minn. Stat. § 609.245, subdivision 1)
Whoever, while committing a robbery, is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the victim to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon, or inflicts bodily harm upon another, commits aggravated robbery in the first degree.
2nd Degree Aggravated Robbery (Minn. Stat. § 609.245, subdivision 2)
Whoever, while committing a robbery, implies, by word or act, possession of a dangerous weapon, commits aggravated robbery in the second degree.
Dangerous weapon: any firearm, whether loaded or unloaded, or any device designed as a weapon and capable of producing death or great bodily harm, any combustible or flammable liquid or other device or instrumentality that, in the manner it is used or intended to be used, is calculated or likely to produce death or great bodily harm, or any fire that is used to produce death or great bodily harm.
Anytime you are charged with a crime, you should do two things:
1. Contact a criminal defense attorney; and,
2. Do NOT talk to the cops.
Only in extremely rare circumstances do we recommend communicating with the cops and any decision to do so should be made with the advice of counsel and with an attorney present.