When you get charged with a DWI, there are not just criminal penalties that go along with it, but civil penalties, too.
Under Minnesota Statute § 169A.54, subd. 1, a person’s license can be revoked for a period of anywhere from 30 days up to 6 years, depending on the level of DWI they are charged with. This period may be reduced based on the outcome of your criminal case or avoided entirely by challenging the revocation. You can also get a limited license or enroll in an ignition interlock program to maintain your driving abilities.
DWIs are what are known as enhance-able offenses because the consequences get more severe with each charge. This means that subsequent DWIs will result in longer revocation periods, and the most severe charges will result in a vehicle forfeiture and mandatory prison sentences.
Under Minnesota Statute § 169A.63, subd. 6, if you are charged with a First or Second Degree DWI, it will result in a vehicle forfeiture. This means the State takes ownership and possession of your vehicle. There are certain steps you can take to get your vehicle back, including enrolling in an ignition interlock program and signing an ignition interlock release agreement with the forfeiting agency.
The civil penalties that come along with DWIs can be confusing and have serious impacts on your life. If you or someone you know are facing DWI charges and the resulting civil penalties, reach out to one of our attorneys for help.